Reserve Forces Day Australian Reserve Forces Day Council
Search the Site

Click Here to check out our discounted merchandise


Reserve Forces Day 2017

  National Parade Sydney go to top of page

Beautiful weather and an all but faultless 2017 Reserve Forces Day parade in the presence of the Lieutenant Covernor, NSW Minister for Veterans' Affairs, Chief of the Army and RSM of the Army.

ABC TV Coverage of the National Parade

Full length video of the 2017 National Parade by DGM Productions

  Wondai go to top of page

Another great parade in Wondai in 2017.

  Riverina go to top of page

The Reserve Forces Day Ceremony for 2017 was held on a cold (temperature starting in the minuses) but clear morning. The Service was again successful, with another large crowd in attendance. The theme for the Ceremony was the Battle of Messines, which began on the 7 June 1917.

The Welcome Address was given by CR Daniel Hayes, the Padre for the Service was Chaplain Fay Fraser, ARTC Kapooka. Alpha Coy, 1/19 RNSWR provided the Catafalque Party, 219 Army Cadet Unit supplied the Flag and Banner Bearers. Background music was provided by the Wagga & District Pipe Band and the MC for the Service was the Chairman RFDC-R, Mr John Ploenges.

The Keynote Address was given by LTCOL Russ Mullins, Ops Offr ARTC. The address was on the Battle of Messines and was well researched and presented, Russ also mentioned he had visited the village of Messines, he was also able to link the Riverina into his account of the Battle. LTCOL Mullins completed his address with a summary of the Messines attack, and paid respects to the servicemen who lost their lives in this conflict. WWl Medallions and War Bars were not presented on the day, instead, the MC read out three names of locals who participated in the Battle, unfortunately, two of these were killed in the first two days of fighting, the third received the Military Medal for his bravery in this action.

A Wreath Laying Ceremony then took place, with the Ode of Remembrance delivered by Mr John Clay, followed by the Last Post, 1 minutes' silence and Reveille. The National Anthem was then played. Also in attendance at the Service were several young ladies from the Wagga Miss Community Princess Charity Event, who assisted in formalities prior to the activities.

The MC, Mr John Ploenges, then thanked all the participants in the day's activities, and invited all to attend a B-B-Q Lunch at the Reserve Depot in Docker St.

John Ploenges
Chair: RFDC-R

  Briefing and Prizegiving go to top of page

On Thursday evening 25 May 2017, the CEO LTCOL John Moore (Ret'd) and RSM WO1 Bob Guest briefed the 2017 National Parade participants on the proposals for another great parade. This time to commemorate the centenary of the Eastern Front Campaign in World War 1.

Prizes were presented by the 2016 parade commander, John Howells to those who participated in the 2016 National Parade. The awards were (numbers relate to photos below).

1. Best Standard Bearer FLGOFF Lou Ehrler who carried the RFDC Standard
2. Best ASM WO1 Bob Smith 21 Construction RAE Assoc. Accepted by MAJ John Hanley
3. Best Association of less than 30 members RAN Reserve accepted by Alf Johnson
4. Best Association of more than 30 members 1/15th RNSWL accepted by Mike McGraw
5. Best Association on Parade NSW Scottish Regimental Association accepted by LT Ian Meek
6. Commendation National Service Association accepted by Brian Breakspear
7. MAJGEN Rosenthal Award for the Best Formation 2 Div accepted by Mike McGraw
8. Commendation 1/15th RNSWL Band acepted by Mike McGraw

  Community Service Announcements 2017 go to top of page

This year The Hon Tim Fischer AC volunteered to do our Community Service Announcements. As always two versions, one for Sydney, and the other for the Bush, or other centres throughout Australia.


The Bush

    go to top of page

     On This Page

Websites without fuss Site Disclaimer

Reserve Forces Day Council Inc
Patron in Chief His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd), Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia
National Chairman the Honourable Tim Fischer AC
National Executive Officer and NSW Chairman Lieutenant Colonel John Moore OAM RFD ED Retd

Telephone: +61 (0)2 9983 9387 Facsimile: +61 (0)2 9988 0809 Mobile: +61 (0)403 160 750 Last Updated 12 March 2014 Webmaster: